Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
welcome to this fashion
12 octobre 2017

Adelaide dress hire shop 808 Threads first to offer outfits for women size 12 and over

The Manningham-based business has become a pioneer in the Adelaide fashion world, empowering women wearing a size 12 and above to start a revolution for change.

“The reason I began 808 Threads was due to my own hardships at finding gowns I could hire in my size,” Ms Frangos says.

“I was frustrated. I felt I had to lose weight to fit into a nice garment and the other boutiques made me feel like I didn’t make the cut.

“I felt I wasn’t good enough to wear those clothes.”

Ms Frangos – a proud size 14 – says too many hire outlets “stock only sizes 6 to 10”, and this saddens her.

“We want to encourage all women of any shape or size to embrace their curves, bumps, lumps, stretch marks, blemishes – anything that society deems unworthy or ugly and makes you believe you’re not beautiful enough,” she says.

At just 22, Ms Frangos is “disturbing the peace” on the Adelaide fashion scene, already securing the business of 100 clients.

And the reason for her boutique’s name?

“The number 8 was picked as it forms the natural curve of the hourglass-figure body shape and 808 is also the penal code for disturbing the peace,” she says.

“Just because you’re not represented or celebrated on social media, by labels, or by other boutiques in Australia does not mean you’re not enough.

“Real life and real beauty comes from within.”

Adelaide woman Sarah Levi hired a jumpsuit from 808 Threads and said her experience was unique.

“I struggle to find clothes in a size 14 that I feel comfortable in and the jumpsuit I hired from Alexia was very flattering,” Mrs Levi says.

“It stuck out to me straight away, there was a huge variety of clothes.”

The 808 Threads founder says her business has a clear objective.

“Our goal is to end the stigma of ‘one size fits all’ and get Australian labels to acknowledge there are women in this country who are above a size 12 and deserve to wear beautiful clothes, and to expand their sizing as well as making their garments true to size,” Ms Frangos says.Read more at:marieaustralia | bridesmaid dresses online

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
welcome to this fashion
Publicité
Archives
Publicité